Last three movies I’ve seen in 2015

Happy New Year, guys! I have so many school projects to do that I’m gonna cry. Also, my parents won’t be at home until tomorrow and I have nothing to eat. A glorious start, but hey, I have coffee and the second season of Suits to keep me company. Oh, and please notice the Facebook page I created. Also, if you’re kind enough, press the like button. Pretty please.

So about those three movies, I didn’t plan anything, it was a quite random selection actually. First one is Love (2015, Gaspar Noé), second is Stardust (2007, Matthew Vaughn), and third is Inside Out (2015, Pete Docter and Ronnie del Carmen).

Love (2015, Gaspar Noé)

Screenshot 2015-12-29 19.43.24

I’ve seen a post on Tumblr where someone included this in the worst movies of 2015. I don’t know what to say about that. I actually liked it. It’s 70% nudity, so if you have a weak heart I recommend you don’t watch it. But the idea of Love was creating a romantic movie from a more sexual point of view. As the director sees it, in a relationship these things make up the quintessence. Romance and sex.

I know, I know, you’ll say that Noé overglorifies sex, that a relationship is not only that. Well, see it like this: he made a movie about those people for whom sex is really that important. And as a nice empathetic human being that you are, you’ll try to understand this point of view.

I decided watching this after I’ve seen way to many stills from the movie on an underground creepy Facebook page. I had to see how this story goes.

And I’m happy I did. This movie is about personal, sexual and romantic exploration. The fact that the main character is a misogynistic ass, okay, so what? You want to watch only movies about prince charming or you want to see some of the shit that might acutually happen in the real world?

The cinematography is really really beautiful. The colors are beautiful, the framing exquisite. A pleasure to watch.

Screenshot 2015-12-29 19.34.23.png

Also, if you’re a movie geek you’ll notice some cool references, like that poster. Here is a link to the Trivia page of the movie Birth of a Nation on IMDb.

Screenshot 2015-12-29 19.01.49

Stardust (2007, Matthew Vaughn)

Stardust

It’s a “they lived happily ever after” story, but you can tell that from the synopsis, so it’s not like I’m spoiling anything for you.

To be honest, I wanted to watch this only beacause of Charlie Cox. What better thing to do while waiting for season two of Daredevil than to watch young Charlie being the sweetest thing ever.

It’s a cute story, the main theme being the transition of the protagonist from a boy to a man. So yeah, basic fairytale here. Tristan (Charlie Cox) learns what courage, friendship and true love mean, with the help of a really nice Robert De Niro and a beautiful Claire Danes.

The cast includes some really cool names, such as Mark Strong, Michelle Pfeiffer, Henry Cavill (not sure if he was famous in 2007 though), Ian McKellen (narrator, not an actual character, but still).

So yeah, if you’re in the mood for the best case scenario movie, or you’re looking for a sleepover movie, or just wanna see some Charlie Cox, i do recommend you watch this.

Inside Out(2015, Pete Docter and Ronnie del Carmen)

Screenshot 2015-12-30 22.57.22

I have a feeling that most of you have already watched this. I wanted to see for myself why all the hype for this animation, and yep, I do understand now.

The cool thing is that this movie is psichologically accurate. The basic human emotions, the  way memories are stored, the role they have in bulding up the personality. It’s really awesome to watch.

Then, of course, it’s a movie, so not all of it is accurate.

The message of this animation movie is very important. It teaches us the meaning of sadness and how it can actually help us. Sadness is part of our lives, so we need to embrace this idea and try to use it in a positive way.

Thank you guys for staying with me, and don’t forget to like the Fictiontalks Facebook page, so we can stay in touch more easily. Take care, and do your homework!

Leave a Reply

