Red Queen – book review

Let’s start by saying I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would. I was expecting much much more after all the Instagram posts and all the hype around it. I don’t know, it kind of made me believe that my time for young adult dystopian novels has passed.

Weak characters, predictable plot, disappointing ending.

I am not a fan of vulnerability. Yes, it is necessary for plot and character development, but to base a whole book on the naivity of a girl it’s just too much. I like my fictional heroines to be strong, intelligent, powerful, determined. I like them to explore their power, to grow it, to fuel it with anger and desire for a better world.

Red Queen reminded me a lot of The Young Elites by Marie Lu. But unlike RQ, TYE heroine uses her feelings and fears to her advantage. They make her strong. But Mare is just constantly complaining about missing her family and lying to everyone. I do understand that she is young, she is shocked by the new context, but stop compaining so much. It’s almost as annoying as the second book of the Divergent series. (Yes, I know you’ll hate me for this)

Coming back to the plot. So, she is supposed to be more powerful than both Reds and Silvers. Okay, I didn’t feel that. At all. She didn’t try to understand her power, she didn’t train almost at all. I needed more development on this route. I wanted her playing with thunder and electricity, exploring the limits of her blood. She didn’t even feel interested in this.

Also, at the final fight, I don’t understand why the Silver guy that could silence powers could silence hers. Wasn’t she supposed to be special? She creates her power, unlike other Silvers who need to find help in their environment. I expected her to find the electricity inside herself, to amaze me, to make me jump on my seat and scream out loud, like I usually do.

Other annoying thing – the love triangle from The Hunger Games becomes a square in Red Queen. It’s Mare, her best friend and the two brothers. Like, c’mooon, that’s just too much.

Also, the living in the brother’s shadow cliche from The Young Elites.

Everything about this book felt shaky and insecure, like the first draft of a fanfiction.

Yes, there were good parts, and yes, you may like it.

But I didn’t. *sad emoji*

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Red Queen – book review

Leave a Reply

